Good for Mike Huckabee

As reported by John Poderhertz at Contentions, here’s how Mike Huckabee responded to Ron Paul’s contention that we should not be in the Middle East:

I’d like to just, with all due respect, Congressman Paul, the issue of whether the president should be in the Middle East comes to something that I think we’ve got to recognize.We’ve got one true ally in the Middle East, and that’s Israel. It’s a tiny nation. I’ve been there nine time. I’ve literally traveled from Dan to Beersheba, and I understand something of that nation and the vulnerability of it.

And for us to give the world the impression that we would stand by if it were under attack and simply say, “It’s not our problem,” would be recklessly irresponsible on our part.

And if I were president, you can rest assured that we would not let an ally be annihilated by those enemies which is surround it, who have openly stated it is their direct intention to destroy that nation. It would not happen under my presidency.

It’s good to see Mike Huckabee come out on the right side on this one. It may be his Baptist faith that motivates his support for Israel, and as a fellow Baptist I can tell you that Israel hasn’t many better friends in this world than Baptists specifically and evangelical Protestants generally.

Beyond matters of faith, there is the simple matter of our duty to support any liberal democracy that is allied with us. There is only one such in the Middle East: Israel.

Both of these reasons resonate with me. I’m nothing but one of those Crusading Zionist Rulers of the Universe. Fetch me my Protocols, if you please…I’ve got a world to dominate.

Leave a Reply

