A Matthew 6 problem

Matthew 6 serves as a brusque reminder to us that it’s not always, or even usually, about us. That God truly cares not how we parade about, extolling our own virtues, worrying about things of this earth.

Matthew 6 is usually what comes to my mind when someone starts a lecture on how we are supposed to dress, what we are supposed to eat, or how we are expected to behave, according to them. Jesus in Matthew 6 is especially hard on hypocrites, those who make a great show of their holiness and virtue. I’m with my savior, of course, on this matter. Which I truly hope does not make me too much the hypocrite to even cite our Lord.

The real subject is blue jeans, a/k/a denim, or, even amongst us old-timers, dungarees. The Pharisee of the day who is instructing us on how evil jeans are? That earnest country-club high-church gentleman, George Will. His column today reminds me what an uptight snob he is. He also wears bow-ties, which speaks for itself.

Here’s what I consider the money quotation from His Excellency:

For men, sartorial good taste can be reduced to one rule: If Fred Astaire would not have worn it, don’t wear it. For women, substitute Grace Kelly.

Yes, wouldn’t it be nice if we all had movie studios at our beck and call to outfit us each and every morning, and pay for the dry cleaning. And, by the way, it would be just so grand if we were all tall, slender, and extraordinarily graceful. Unmentioned but there nonetheless is the notion that wouldn’t we all be better people if we were descended from Mayflower families, and I don’t mean the moving company.

My response to Mr Will? Stuff it, Georgie. I’ll wear what I am comfortable in; what I can afford. And if that offends some people who would prefer that we all dressed like department store mannequins ca. 1950, go read Matthew 6 and then go soak your swelled heads.

Leave a Reply

