“perfectly virtuous diets”

Thus the WaPo foodie columnist describes a vegan diet. It’s all about global warming and the need for humans to simply dry up and stop abusing the planet.

Well, WaPo is the dead tree product that gets delivered to my door each a.m. Got to keep in touch with my neighbors, I suppose, but I learned long ago to know that I would get left-leaning politics with my style, tv (Tommy Shales, anyone?), food, and, yes, even sports.

Today’s food column does not surprise and is part of the contamination of news and features with the Post’s political opinions. And yet, having just had a corned beef sandwich for lunch. I do feel guilty. Slightly.

The serious point is given in Genesis 1:29. In our Edenic, pre-fall state, we were vegetarians by God’s edict:

And God said, Behold, I have given you every herb bearing seed, which [is] upon the face of all the earth, and every tree, in the which [is] the fruit of a tree yielding seed; to you it shall be for meat.

After the fall, when we had demonstrated what a bunch of evil toads we humans were, it was steaks on the grill, BLTs, and don’t spare the sauce on those ribs.

So, if one is a true believer in God’s infinite wisdom, then you must associate eating not eating meat with godliness. Except, of course, no self-righteous Post writer would stoop to the level of citing God as an authority. The closest the Post author comes is our “God-given right to bathe in bacon.”

I’m not sure which book of the Bible this God-given right appears, but I’ll keep looking for it…

Leave a Reply

