Jack Kramer, R.I.P.

jackkramerThis is the only tennis racquet that I competed with, back when I could actually hit a decent serve and return a volley.

It’s namesake, Jack Kramer, a pro’s pro, died of cancer yesterday at his home in L.A. I insisted on the Kramer model after seeing him in action (on film). He was the tennis player I wanted to be, a combination of grace and power, one of the true greats of the game/

No, I never even came close. Of course. But when I swung the racquet, I could at least pretend, and whatever else it was, the Kramer model was an honest racquet. Technical tricks built in? Not hardly.

The Kramer model taught me a lot about life: that you should always have the best tools you can get, but that the final result, whether you won or lost, was solely up to you.

Jack Kramer, dead at 88. R.I.P.

Leave a Reply

