Boring and racist

Ace of Spades goes on, and on, about how the Left decries conservatives’ lack of interest in soccer. For those on the Left, we knuckle-dragging ‘muricans are simply too ignorant and racist to truly understand the pristine beauty that is soccer.
I’m not quite sure I buy into this thesis, that the Left somehow equates our lack of interest in soccer with us being stone racists. Not that there are not examples; Ace of Spades cites a few of the more egregious ones.

But the Left, especially in this (hopefully short) age of Obama, claims everything that a typical American does is racist. Complain about Obama’s handling of the oil disaster in the Gulf? Racist. Complain about the socialization of health care? Racist. Allow an unknown Democrat to win his party’s nomination for U.S. Senate in South Carolina? Racist. Don’t like soccer, don’t like the annoying and tribal-primitive noise of those stupid vuvuzela horns? Racist.

Well, soccer, even at the top levels of the sport on display at the World Cup, is, just not terribly interesting to those of us who play and watch other sports. Unless it’s the good old U.S.A. competing, we just don’t care very much. For example, this morning, while exercising, I had the New Zealand-Slovakia game on. I’m not a Kiwi, and I’m not Slovak. Good thing I was exercising and listening to my mp3 player, else I might have gone catatonic and injured meself…

Rooting interest? Well, I always will root for an English-speaking nation against one that isn’t, so I kind of hoped the Kiwis would win. However, truth be told, I truly did not care if they did. At 45 or so minutes in, the score was 0-0. Gah. Then, oh, the earth moved and the heavens brightened, and Slovakia, formerly the poorer half of Czechoslovakia, scored, apparently by accident. I think the Kiwi goalie was lulled to sleep…

The game ended in a 1-1 tie. Who cares? The players, yes. All three Slovaks with television sets and electricity, and the four or so Kiwis back home who could break away from the sheep. A tie. Now, I will say this about the players: they’re a fit bunch, running constantly for all that time. How ’bout they run in a track meet, where we can actually keep score on something that matters?Ace of Spades goes on, and on, about how the Left decries conservatives’ lack of interest in soccer. For those on the Left, we knuckle-dragging ‘muricans are simply too ignorant and racist to truly understand the pristine beauty that is soccer.
I’m not quite sure I buy into this thesis, that the Left somehow equates our lack of interest in soccer with us being stone racists. Not that there are not examples; Ace of Spades cites a few of the more egregious ones.

But the Left, especially in this (hopefully short) age of Obama, claims everything that a typical American does is racist. Complain about Obama’s handling of the oil disaster in the Gulf? Racist. Complain about the socialization of health care? Racist. Allow an unknown Democrat to win his party’s nomination for U.S. Senate in South Carolina? Racist. Don’t like soccer, don’t like the annoying and tribal-primitive noise of those stupid vuvuzela horns? Racist.

Well, soccer, even at the top levels of the sport on display at the World Cup, is, just not terribly interesting to those of us who play and watch other sports. Unless it’s the good old U.S.A. competing, we just don’t care very much. For example, this morning, while exercising, I had the New Zealand-Slovakia game on. I’m not a Kiwi, and I’m not Slovak. Good thing I was exercising and listening to my mp3 player, else I might have gone catatonic and injured meself…

Rooting interest? Well, I always will root for an English-speaking nation against one that isn’t, so I kind of hoped the Kiwis would win. However, truth be told, I truly did not care if they did. At 45 or so minutes in, the score was 0-0. Gah. Then, oh, the earth moved and the heavens brightened, and Slovakia, formerly the poorer half of Czechoslovakia, scored, apparently by accident. I think the Kiwi goalie was lulled to sleep…

The game ended in a 1-1 tie. Who cares? The players, yes. All three Slovaks with television sets and electricity, and the four or so Kiwis back home who could break away from the sheep. A tie. Now, I will say this about the players: they’re a fit bunch, running constantly for all that time. How ’bout they run in a track meet, where we can actually keep score on something that matters?

Leave a Reply

